The Power of Negotiation & Communication: Land Leasing Strategies for Midwestern Ag. Women

The Power of Negotiation: Land Leasing Strategies for Midwestern Ag Women is a four-part extension workshop produced in collaboration between women in agriculture programs in Indiana, Kansas, and Nebraska. It will focus on the basics of land management, leasing, and conservation for both landlords and tenants. Each state will host dozens of workshop sites on each date, featuring simulcast keynote speakers, as well as local speakers.

Program Description

K-State Research and Extension recognizes that roughly 50% of farm and rangeland in Kansas is operated on a leased-basis.  Having a good relationship between the tenant and landlord, being able to negotiate an equitable lease arrangement, and discussing issues such as conservation practices are all critical to long-term sustainability of Kansas agriculture.

This hands-on evening workshop series will teach principles of managing land leases, both as a tenant and a landlord. In addition to presentations on these topics, participants will do activities to apply what they learned to a real-world farm lease. The goal is for participants to acquire skills they can apply directly to their own lease situation.

Participants must register for the entire 4-part series, as sessions will build upon each other.  

This program is just one example of K-State Research and Extension’s commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion.  While the program is designed to highlight women’s issues in agriculture, it is open to any participant without regard to sex.

For more information, contact Robin Reid, K-State Agricultural Economics at 785-532-0964.

Program Schedule

**Note that times listed are in Central Time Zone.  For the Syracuse & Goodland locations, all session will start at 4:30 pm Mountain Time***

January 18th, 2023:
5:30 pm Registration & Dinner
6:00 pm Networking Activity
6:30 pm Ag. Economy Overview- Courtney Cowley, Federal Reserve of Kansas City
7:30 pm Land Lease Basics - Robin Reid & LaVell Winsor, K-State
8:00 pm Local Land Lease Rates
8:30 pm End

January 25th, 2023:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Kansas Lease Law -Robin Reid & LaVell Winsor, K-State
6:30 pm Components of a Good Written Lease- Roger McEowen, Washburn School of Law
7:30 pm Activity 
8:00 pm Kansas Fence Law
8:30 pm End

February 1st, 2023:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Pasture Leases
6:30 pm Best Practices in Lease Negotiation- Mykel Taylor, Auburn University
7:30 pm Activity 
8:00 pm Local Presentation
8:30 pm End

February 8th, 2023:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Conservation Programs -Local NRCS
6:30 pm Incentivizing Conservation Practices in a Farm Lease- Ray Massay, University of Missouri
7:30 pm Activity
8:00 pm Carbon Credits - Micah Cameron-Harp, K-State
8:30 pm End


Registration Information

Registration to attend one of the in-person Host sites will be $50.00, payable at the door the first night of the program.  Please click HERE to register for attendance in-person.

Registration to attend online-only is $75.00 and program materials will be shipped to you.  Online only registration is available HERE.

Please note: You will receive more out of this program by attending a local site in-person, because of the personal interaction with local speakers and networking with other participants.  We highly encourage you to attend in-person if at all possible.  The online registration was designed for those areas of Kansas where host sites are a long drive, or for absentee landowners that are not residing in the state of Kansas.


SITES AND CONTACT INFORMATION

ARGONIA
Argonia Friends Church
202 N Pine

Jenni Car
620-842-5445
jlcarr@ksu.edu

BURLINGTON
Coffey County Extension Office
225 Cross Street

Darl Henson
620-364-5313
dhenson@ksu.edu

CHEROKEE
Labette Bank (Cherokee)
104 W. 400 Hwy

James Coover
620-724-8233
jcoover@ksu.edu

COLBY
Thomas County Office Complex
350 S. Range Ave.

Emily Bennigsdorf
785-460-4582
ebennigsdorf@ksu.edu

COUNCIL GROVE
Morris County Courthouse Mtg. Room
501 W. Main

Abby Gettinger
620-767-5136
agettinger@ksu.edu

DODGE CITY
Ford County Fair Building
901 West Park Street

Andrea Burns
620-227-4542
aburns@ksu.edu

EDNA
Community Building
109 S. Labette St.

Adaven Scronce
620-331-2690
adaven@ksu.edu

El DORADO
Butler County Community/4-H Building
200 N. Griffith

Charlene Miller
316-321-9660
cmmiller1@ksu.edu

ELLSWORTH
Ellsworth County Courthouse
210 N Kansas Ave.

Jessica Kootz
785-472-4442
jessicak@ksu.edu

EMPORIA
Lyon County Extension Office
2632 W Hwy 50

Brian Rees
620-341-3220
brees@ksu.edu

ERIE
Neosho Valley Event Center
321 N Wood

Chad Guthrie
308-991-8415
cguthrie74@ksu.edu

GOODLAND
Walock Building
1006 Center St.

Jeanne Falk Jones
785-462-6281
jfalkjones@ksu.edu

GRAINFIELD
Grainfield Extension Office
230 Main St.

Kelsi Wertz
785-673-4805
kjwertz@ksu.edu

GREAT BEND
Great Bend Extension Office
3007 10th St.

Alicia Boor
620-793-1910
aboor@ksu.edu

HAYS
Extension Office Meeting Room
601 Main Street

Stacy Campbell
785-628-9430
scampbel@ksu.edu

HIAWATHA
Klinefelter Barn
1774 230th St.

Matt Young
785-742-7871
mayoung@ksu.edu

HOLTON
NEK Heritage Complex
12200 214th Rd.

David Hallauer
785-364-4125
dhallaue@ksu.edu

LAWRENCE
Dreher Building
2110 Harper St.

Margit Kaltenekker
785-843-7058
mkaltenekker@ksu.edu

LEWIS
Lewis City Hall
219 S Main

Marty Gleason
620-659-5095
mgleason@ksu.edu

MANHATTAN
Riley County Public Works Facility
6215 Tuttle Creek Boulevard

Greg McClure
785-537-6350
gmcclure@ksu.edu

MANKATO
Mankato Community Center
214 N High St.

Blaire Todd
785-738-3597
blairet@ksu.edu

MCPHERSON
McPherson County Extension Office
600 W Woodside

Shad Marston
620-241-1523
smarston@ksu.edu

NEODESHA
Neodesha Senior Citizens Center
422 Main

Wendie Powell
620-779-1409
wendiepowell@ksu.edu

NESS CITY
People's Bank and Trust
210 S. Kansas

Lacey Noterman
785-798-3921
lnote@ksu.edu

NEWTON
Newton Courthouse
800 North Main

Ryan Fleming
316-284-6930
flaming@ksu.edu

OSBORNE
United Christian Church
214 North Second Street

Sandra Wick
785-282-6823
swick@ksu.edu

PAOLA
Paola Extension Office
913 N Pearl St., Suite #1

Katelyn Barthol
913-294-4306
kbarth25@ksu.edu

SALINA
K-State College Center Conf. Room 103
2310 Centennial Rd.

Jay Wisbey
785-309-5850
jwisbey@ksu.edu

SCOTT CITY
William Carpenter 4-H Building
608 Fairground Rd.

Renee Tuttle
620-272-3670
rtuttle@ksu.edu

SOUTH HUTCHINSON
Reno County Extension Office
2 West 10 Ave.

Marcus Preuninger
620-662-2371
marcus46@ksu.edu

STOCKTON
Rooks County Courthouse
115 N. Walnut St.

Rachael Brooke
785-425-6851
rbrooke@ksu.edu

SYRACUSE
Hamilton County Fairgrounds-4-H Building
806 S Main Street

Lora Horton
620-384-5225
ljhorton@ksu.edu

WASHINGTON
KSDS East Building Mtg. Room
124 7th Street

Kelsey Hatesohl
785-325-2121
khatesohl@ksu.edu

WINFIELD
Cowley County Courthouse
311 E. 9th Ave.

Becky Reid
620-221-5450
bkreid@ksu.edu

  

This material is based upon work supported by USDA/NIFA under Award Number 2021-70027-34694.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dates & Location
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 to Wednesday, February 8, 2023