K-State 2018 Farm Bill Meetings

Register online: https://bit.ly/2MTDsTi

Or contact the local agent listed below. 

The 2018 Farm Bill was passed in December, 2018. Though it has much in common with the previous farm bill, there are some significant differences. These in-depth Farm Bill meetings will cover the new provisions of the programs, economic decisions to consider when making a decision, and present a new decision tool for producers to use. Specifically the discussion will look at commodity programs, particularly the economics of the ARC/PLC decision and the OSU-KSU Farm Program Decision Aid. There will also be discussion of SCO and changes in crop insurance.

Speakers are Dr. Mykel Taylor, Dr. Monte Vandeveer, Robin Reid, and Dr. Dan O'Brien, as well as local extension agents and FSA personnel.

 

 
Dates & Location
Monday, August 26, 2019

Hill City

Graham County 4-H Building
Graham County Fairgrounds
Hill City , KS

1:00 - 4:30 pm

Contact: Alyssa Rippe-May - alyssar@ksu.edu or 785.475.8121

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Goodland

Elks Lodge
1523 Arcade St.
Goodland , KS

8:30 am - 12:00 noon

Contact: Jeanne Falk Jones - jfalkjones@ksu.edu or 785.890.4880. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Tuesday, August 27, 2019

Leoti

Wichita County Community Building
Wichita County Fairgrounds
Leoti , KS

2:30 - 6:00 pm

Contact: Allen Baker - abaker@ksu.edu or 620.375.2724. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Wednesday, August 28, 2019

Plains

Plains Community Building
812 Grand Ave.
Plains , KS

10:00 am - 3:00 pm. Lunch included. 

Contact: Elly Sneath - sneath@ksu.edu or 620.873.8790. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Thursday, August 29, 2019

Great Bend

Great Bend Events Center
3111 10th St.
Great Bend , KS

8:30 am - 12:00 noon

Contact: Alicia Boor - aboor@ksu.edu or 620.793.1910.

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Friday, August 30, 2019

Wichita

Sedgwick County Extension Office
7001 W 21st St N.
Wichita , KS

8:30 am - 12:00 noon.

Contact: Jeff Seiler - jseiler4@ksu.edu or 316.660.0153. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Parsons

Southeast Area Research and Extension Center
25092 Ness Road
Parsons , KS

1:00 - 4:30 pm

Contacts:
Dale Helwig - dhelwig@ksu.edu or 620.429.3849
James Coover - jcoover@ksu.edu or 620.724.8233

 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Wednesday, September 4, 2019

Ottawa

Celebration Hall, Franklin County Fairgrounds
220 W. 17th St.
Ottawa , KS

8:30 am - 12:00 noon

Contact: Darren Hibdon - dhibdon@ksu.edu or 785-229-3520. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Thursday, September 5, 2019

Seneca

Nemaha County Community Center
1500 Community Dr.
Seneca , KS

1:00 - 4:30 pm

Contact: Margaret Chamas - mchamas@ksu.edu or 785.985.3623. 

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
Tuesday, September 10, 2019

Concordia

Commercial Building, Cloud County Fairgrounds
Industrial Road
Concordia , KS

1:00 - 4:30 pm

Contact: 
Brett Melton- bmelton@ksu.edu or 785.243.8185
Sandra Wick- swick@ksu.edu or 785.282.5121
John Forshee-  jforshee@ksu.edu or 785.632.5335

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Brochure279.17 KB
General Agenda

Overview of Commodity Programs - ARC and PLC 
Mykel Taylor

How Did Your County Perform in the 2014 Farm Bill
County/District Agents

Economics of the ARC/PLC Decision and MYA Price Outlook 
Robin Reid/Dan O'Brien

Break

SCO and Farm Bill Changes to Crop Insurance 
Monte Vandeveer

Introduction to the OSU-KSU Farm Program Decision Aid 
Robin Reid/Mykel Taylor

Farm Service Agency and NRCS

For more information, contact Rich Llewelyn at the phone or email below:
Phone: 785-532-1504  Email: rvl@ksu.edu

 


PREMIER SPONSORS

 

 

 

 


SUPPORTING SPONSORS

 


Funding and assistance also received from:

 

 

 

This material is based upon work supported by USDA/NIFA under Award Number 2015-49200-24226.