Farm Financial Skills for Kansas Women in Agriculture

Program Description

K-State Research and Extension, recognizes the financial stress that farmers and ranchers are experiencing due to low commodity prices and high input costs.  More than ever, financial management of the operation is critical to long-term sustainability.

This workshop series will teach principles of recordkeeping to develop  a balance sheet, income statement and a cash flow statement. Participants will work with a case farm to do performance analysis and understand how these statements can help with management decisions. Other special topics will include managing family living expenses, coping with mental stress and developing a whole-farm financial management plan.

The program will be a combination of broadcasted keynote speakers, local speakers, and facilitators to assist in completing the hands-on activities. The goal is for participants to acquire financial management skills they can apply directly to their farming or ranching operations.

For more information, contact Robin Reid, K-State Agricultural Economics at 785-532-0964 or LaVell Winsor, K-State Farm Analyst Program at 785-220-5451.


Program Schedule

January 15, 2020:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Local networking activity
6:30 pm Recordkeeping & Activity
8:30 pm Session ends

January 22, 2020:

5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Balance Sheet & Activity
8:00 pm “This is different stress”
8:30 pm Session ends

January 29, 2020:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Income Statement & Activity
8:00 pm “Managing Family Living Expenses”
8:30 pm Session ends

February 5, 2020:
5:30 pm Dinner
6:00 pm Cash Flow  & Activity
8:00 pm Goal Setting
8:30 pm Session ends

**Note that times listed are in Central Time Zone.  For the Syracuse location, all session will start at 4:30 pm Mountain Time***


Registration Information

This program will be run as a series, so each night will build upon the material from the previous sessions.  As such, participants will register for the entire 4-session series.

$40.00 registration fee will cover all meals and all program materials (local scholarships may be available). 

Register for the series at: https://kstate.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_ba7iw2DgWzmmp6J

Registration Deadline December 31!

First 500 participants to register will receive a free Farm Financial Management Book!

VIEW BROCHURE

SITES AND CONTACT INFORMATION

ABILENE
Sterl Hall
619 N Rogers St.

Tony Whitehair
785-263-2001
tonyw@ksu.edu

BEAUMONT
Beaumont Depot
11724 SE Beaumont Rd

Lindsay Shorter
620-583-7455
lindsayshorter@ksu.edu

BELLEVILLE
Republic County4-H Building
901 O Street

Monica Thayer
785-527-5084
mthayer@ksu.edu

BURLINGTON
Burlington Library
410 Juniatta St.

Darl Henson
620-364-5313
dhenson@ksu.edu

CHANUTE
Chantue Agronomy Center-Midwest Fertilizer
3030 S. Santa Fe

Joy Miller
620-223-3720
joymiller@ksu.edu

COUNCIL GROVE
Morris County Courthouse Meeting Room 
501 W. Main

Shannon Ney
785-324-0714
spn@ksu.edu

DODGE CITY
Ford County Fair Building
901 West Park Street

Andrea Burns
620-227-4542
aburns@ksu.edu

EMPORIA
Lyon County Extension Office
2632 W Hwy 50

Brian Rees
620-341-3220
brees@ksu.edu

GREAT BEND
American Ag Credit
5634 10th St

Alicia Boor
620-793-1910
aboor@ksu.edu

HEPLER
Hepler Community Building
105 S Prairie Ave

James Coover
620-724-8233
jcoover@ksu.edu

HIGHLAND
Highland Community College
606 West Main

Matthew Young
785-742-7871
mayoung@ksu.edu

KINSLEY
Edwards County Extension Office
212 East 6th 

Marty Gleason
620-659-2149
mgleason@ksu.edu

LACROSSE
Walnut Creek Extension Office
702 Main

Jared Petersilie
785-222-2710
jaredp11@ksu.edu

LAWRENCE
Douglas County Extension Office
2110 Harper St

Mallory Meek
785-843-7058
mgmeek@ksu.edu

MANHATTAN
Pottorf Hall, Cico Park
1710 Avery Ave

Greg McClure
785-537-6350
gmcclure@ksu.edu

MCPHERSON
McPherson County Extension Office
600 W Woodside

Jana McKinney
620-241-1523
jmckinne@ksu.edu

OLATHE
Johnson County Extension Office
11811 S Sunset Drive

Jessica Barnett
913-715-7000
jessica.barnett@jocogov.org

OSKALOOSA
Colonial Acres Event Center
8998 US Hwy 59

Jody Holthaus
785-364-4125
jholthau@ksu.edu

PAOLA
Marais des Cygnes Extension Office 
104 S. Brayman

Abbie Powell
913-294-4306
abbie2@ksu.edu

PARSONS
Southeast Research-Extension Center
25092 Ness Rd.

Adaven Scronce
620-331-2690
adaven@ksu.edu

PHILLIPSBURG
Phillips County Fairbuilding
1481 HWY 183

Cody Miller
785-543-6845
codym@ksu.edu

SALINA
American AgCredit
925 W. Magnolia Rd.

Cade Rensink
785-392-2147
crensink@ksu.edu

SELDEN
Selden Community Center
110 N. Kansas Ave.

Alyssa Rippe-May
785-475-8121
alyssar@ksu.edu

SMITH CENTER
Smith Center Courthouse-Basement Meeting Room
218 S. Grant

Sandra Wick
785-282-6823
swick@ksu.edu

ST. JOHN
Stafford County Extension Office
210 E Third Ave

Amanda Staub
620-549-3502
ajstaub@ksu.edu

STOCKTON
Rooks County Fairgrounds-Harding Hall 4-H Building
918 S. Elm St.

Rachael Boyle
785-425-6851
rboyle@ksu.edu

SUBLETTE
Haskell Township Library
700 W. Chouteau Ave.

Kristin Penner
620-675-2261
pennerkr@ksu.edu

SYCAMORE
Sycamore Township Hall
4122 Co Rd 5400

Wendie Powell
620-784-5337
wendiepowell@ksu.edu

SYRACUSE
Hamilton County Fairgrounds-4-H Building
806 S Main Street

Lora Horton
620-384-5225
ljhorton@ksu.edu

ULYSSES
Grant County Civic Center, South Room
1100 W. Patterson

Elizabeth Kissick
620-356-1721
emrogers@ksu.edu

WINFIELD
Cowley County Extension Assembly Room
311 E. 9th Avenue

Kelsey Nordyke
620-221-5450
klnordyke@ksu.edu

 

 

This material is based upon work supported by USDA/NIFA under Award Number 2018-70027-28586.

 

 

Dates & Location
Wednesday, January 15, 2020